Movie Trivia Night

When:
Sunday, May 3
Doors open at 6 p.m.

Why:
To help our friend pay legal expenses

Where:
Richmond Heights Community Center
8001 Dale Ave. 
Richmond Heights, MO 63117
Map and Directions 

What:
Movie Trivia Night
Avis has created 100 questions, 10 each for 10 movie genres, to challenge even the most avid moviegoers. Joe Holleman, columnist and movie critic of the Post-Dispatch will host the event, which will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Awards:
Avis is donating books about movies. The first-place table’s winners will choose their books first; then the second-place table; then the third. In addition, three lucky players will receive a $50 gift certificate to Pietro’s, Spiro’s or Dressel’s.

Cost:
The minimum cost per ticket is $25**. Anything beyond that would be welcomed, but not expected — especially if you’re in education or journalism. The room seats 280 well-wishers. Cash and checks will be accepted at the door.

BYOE:
Please bring your own snacks and soft drinks. Alcohol is not permitted at this event. Baked goods, some created by Anna Marie, herself, will be available for purchase.

RSVP:      
Please RSVP by May 1 by adding your name and number attending to the responses on this site. The “Responses” link can be found at the top of the page under the “Movie Trivia Night” header.

If you would like to RSVP privately, please e-mail Chelsea Meyer Deiter at chelseadeiters@yahoo.com to let us know that you’re coming.

We have a total of 30 tables of eight and four tables of 10; to avoid disappointing anyone, please let us know in your response on this website if you are reserving a table of 8 or 10 or just planning to attend.

Note:        
If you cannot attend the Movie Trivia Night but would like to donate to Avis’ defense fund, you may send checks** made  payable to Anna Marie Meyer, to:
     10828 Woodforest Drive
     St. Louis, MO 63128

Note (another):
If you cannot attend the trivia bowl, some alumni are planning a second event — a picnic in an area park, tentatively scheduled for May 24, a Sunday afternoon. This website will carry details, as they become available; and no one but Avis and Anna Marie should appear at both events.

**This is not a tax-deductible donation. 

31 Responses

  1. Jay and I will be there 🙂

  2. I’ll be there with bells on and I’m bringing friends! Visit http://saveavis.wordpress.com for the history of the SLU v. Avis case!

  3. I will be there and I will bring friends with generous hearts and heavy wallets.

  4. Avis, I will be there. Maggie

  5. River and I will attend.

  6. I will be there!

  7. Count me in for two. If there’s an “Annie Hall” category I might actually get a few correct!

  8. I wish I could be there. The SLU alum of New York City will be there in spirit!

  9. I’m there. I will know nothing. Should amuse the rest of you.

  10. I’ll be there with as many people as I can drag along with me!!!!

  11. Looking forward to it! I’ll be there!

  12. I’ve got 10 definites, so I’d like to reserve a table for 12, if that’s possible. Can you e-mail me and let me know? Thanks.

  13. Also, will we pay at the door? Are checks accepted at the door?

    • Certainly, both cash and checks will be accepted at the door.

  14. Roz Norman and I will be there. Should we bring our cash donation to the event?

  15. I’ll be there, plus one.

  16. I will be there with two guests.

  17. Dr. Meyer,

    Mary Ellen, our daughter Mary Margaret, whom I don’t believe you’ve ever met, and I will be there.

    Lloyd Murphey

  18. I will be there. Sounds like a great time!

  19. For Avis? Of course.

  20. I’ll be there, heading up a whole table of folks.

  21. Hi Avis,
    Theresa Tighe, Donna Korando, Kathy & George Richardson plan on attending Movie Trivia Night.

    We will see you there.

    Theresa

  22. I’ll be there 🙂

  23. I will be there and am inviting all members of the Press Club and people on my e-mail list to attend as well.

  24. I will be there!! I hope all UNews alumni living in St. Louis will make it out to support Dr. Meyer.

    Robert C. Metzinger
    A&S ’05

  25. I wish I could be there, but sending my best wishes and love from Miami Beach. Thanks for sticking up for all of us SLU students Avis. You are one of the bravest people I have met.

  26. Trish & will be there! Joe Tanian

  27. Count the three of us in!

  28. I’ll be helping out but my in-laws are ready to play– Tom, Pat, and Jeanne Deiters (please put at a table with Katie Knoll, Colleen Piel, and Sarah Zimmerman)

  29. Hey, Avis,

    I’m editing Theresa’s posting. Our group will be Theresa, Donna Korando, Cynthia Todd and me. At this point, we are a group of four who will just show up, but you never know, we may field a table yet.
    Anyway, Jennie’s group will win. Hi, Jen!

  30. Dr. Meyer,

    Jared and I will be there, along with two of our friends (so that makes four of us). I’m expecting Jared to carry the team.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

